Improving Quality of Life

Research Partners

To help achieve our goal to advance the practice of integrative oncology in Canada, the OICC has established partnerships with several local, national and international investigators and several research organizations.


The Complementary Medicine Education and Outcomes (CAMEO) Program

The CAMEO is a research program focused on knowledge translation, the process of transforming research into user-friendly information that can be shared with patients and health professionals. CAMEO studies the complementary medicine needs of people living with cancer, their support persons, and health care providers, and develops programs and resources to help address those needs. CAMEO brings the latest complementary medicine research to the conventional cancer care setting through education courses and lectures, published documents, and individualized information and decision support consultations.

With CAMEO, the OICC is working to develop a decision-aid to support the decision-making process for women with a history of breast cancer who are seeking help to control hot flashes. In addition we are working with CAMEO to translate the findings of a series of CIHR funded systematic reviews for people living with lung and breast cancer into patient friendly monographs that summarizes the evidence on both safety and efficacy for nearly 15 separate natural health products. 

The Integrative Canadian Oncology (ICON) Research Initiative

The Integrative Canadian Oncology (ICON) Research Initiative has the mission to facilitate the creation, synthesis and translation of evidence-informed integrative oncology that motivates practice and policy change within Canada. ICON was established in 2010 by members of the former Cancer Complementary and Alternative Medicine Research Team (CCAM). There are two team leaders and six team members that focus their research exclusively on integrative oncology, including Drs. Seely and Weeks of the OICC.

Through collaborative efforts with the ICON Research Initiative, the OICC research team is working to develop a framework and agenda for integrative oncology research in Canada. In April 2012, the OICC and ICON partnered to host a 2-day meeting (funded by the Canadian Institutes of Health Research) to reach consensus on Canadian integrative oncology research priorities, develop a research agenda and  implement strategies and an action plan towards fulfilling that research agenda. 

Researchers at the Ottawa Hospital Research Institute

The Ottawa Hospital Research Institute (OHRI)  is the research arm of The Ottawa Hospital and an affiliated institute of the University of Ottawa. Their goal is to make tomorrow's health care possible today; bringing new hope to our patients, while advancing health research at a global level.

The OICC research team has fostered several productive collaborative relationships with researchers at the OHRI. Examples of collaborative work include a multi-phase feasibility study that informed the development of the OICC model, ongoing clinical research into melatonin and intravenous vitamin C, the development of a consensus-based research agenda for integrative oncology in Canada, and working for system change by improving patient and practitioner communication and patient outcomes through sharing electronic health records.

Voices of Support

 

“I applaud the OICC’s commitment to being a leader in integrative oncology research. From interactions with mutual patients, I realize that the clinical care provided by the OICC has real value to the people under our care, and that this care can and should be expanded to others. With the research that we’ve done together already and the approach you take in science and clinical care, I believe the OICC will achieve great prominence as a valuable resource for patients.”

Andrew J.E. Seely, MD, PhD, FRCSC
Associate Scientist, Ottawa Health Research Institute
Associate Professor of Surgery, University of Ottawa
Research Director, Division of Thoracic Surgery and Critical Care Medicine of The Ottawa Hospital


view all voices

Latest Blog Posts

Navigating the world of complementary and alternative healthcare information

Fats, Flora and Fitness: Positive ways to enhance your heart health

Getting started as a runner or walker

Go to Blog

Améliorer la qualité de vie

Partenaires de recherche

Pour l’aider à atteindre son objectif, soit faire avancer la pratique de l’oncologie intégrative au Canada, le CCIO a créé des partenariats avec plusieurs chercheurs locaux, nationaux et internationaux, et avec un certain nombre d’organismes de recherche.


Programme Complementary Medicine Education and Outcomes (CAMEO)

Le programme de recherche CAMEO est axé sur le transfert des connaissances, le processus de transformation de la recherche en information conviviale qui peut être partagée avec les patients et les professionnels de la santé. Le personnel chargé de ce programme étudie les besoins en médecine complémentaire des personnes atteintes de cancer, des personnes qui les aident et des fournisseurs de soins de santé, et il conçoit des programmes et des ressources dans le but de répondre à ces besoins. Le programme CAMEO transpose les toutes dernières recherches en médecine complémentaire dans le milieu des soins conventionnels du cancer grâce à des cours et des conférences de sensibilisation, des documents publiés, des consultations personnalisées d’information et de soutien à la prise de décisions.

Avec le concours du programme CAMEO, le CCIO tente d’élaborer des mesures de soutien à la prise de décisions pour appuyer le processus décisionnel des femmes ayant des antécédents de cancer du sein qui cherchent à obtenir de l’aide pour maîtriser leurs bouffées de chaleur. Par ailleurs, nous collaborons avec le programme CAMEO afin de convertir les constatations d’une série d’examens systématiques financés par les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC) à l’intention des personnes atteintes de cancer du poumon et du sein pour en faire des monographies accessibles aux patients, qui résument les preuves scientifiques sur l’innocuité et l’efficacité de près de 15 produits de santé naturels.

Initiative de recherche Integrative Canadian Oncology (ICON)

La mission de l’initiative de recherche Integrative Canadian Oncology (ICON) consiste à favoriser la création, la synthèse et la traduction de l’oncologie intégrative fondée sur des preuves scientifiques afin de susciter des changements dans la pratique et les politiques au Canada. L’initiative ICON a été créée en 2010 par des membres de l’ex équipe de recherche appelée Cancer Complementary Medicine and Alternative (CCAM). Elle se compose de deux chefs d’équipe principaux et de six membres qui concentrent leurs recherches exclusivement sur l’oncologie intégrative, notamment les Drs Seely et Weeks du CCIO.

En collaboration avec l’initiative de recherche ICON, l’équipe de recherche du CCIO tâche d’élaborer un cadre et un calendrier de recherche en oncologie intégrative au Canada. En avril 2012, le CCIO et l’initiative ICON se sont associés et ont organisé une réunion de deux jours (financée par les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada) afin de parvenir à un consensus sur les priorités des recherches en oncologie intégrative au Canada, d’établir un calendrier de recherche et de mettre en œuvre des stratégies et un plan d’action pour réaliser ce calendrier de recherche.

Chercheurs de l’Institut de recherche de l’Hôpital d’Ottawa

L’Institut de recherche de l’Hôpital d’Ottawa (IRHO), le volet recherche de l’Hôpital d’Ottawa, est un institut affilié à l’Université d’Ottawa. Son objectif est d’offrir aujourd’hui les soins de santé de demain, de donner de nouveaux espoirs aux patients, tout en faisant progresser la recherche sur la santé à l’échelle internationale.

L’équipe de recherche du CCIO préconise plusieurs relations de collaboration productives avec des chercheurs de l’IRHO. Les travaux de collaboration comprennent une étude de faisabilité multiphase qui a permis de concevoir le modèle du CCIO, des recherches cliniques constantes sur la mélatonine et l’administration intraveineuse de vitamine C, l’établissement d’un calendrier de recherche consensuel sur l’oncologie intégrative au Canada et des travaux visant à changer le système en améliorant la communication entre les patients et les praticiens ainsi que les résultats pour les patients grâce à l’échange des dossiers de santé électroniques.