Improving Quality of Life

Framework

We research the effectiveness of new therapies and natural health products, and bring evidence-informed, reliable information to patients, their families and health care providers.



Research is Fundamental to Advancing Integrative Oncology

The goal of the OICC research program is to advance the practice of integrative oncology in Canada. To help achieve this goal our research team collaborates with several academic, administrative, clinical and patient partners to conduct primary research in two main areas:

  1. Safety, Effectiveness and Cost of Complementary Therapies
  2. Developing and Evaluating Integrative Oncology Models

The OICC research program is informed by ongoing efforts to develop a framework and agenda for integrative oncology research in Canada.

An emerging research framework highlights five priority research areas as fundamental to advancing integrative oncology practice and policies:

  • Clinical effectiveness
  • Safety
  • Economic context of care
  • Development and evaluation of integrative oncology models
  • Knowledge translation

Our research program is structured to address these five priority areas to better assess and develop individual complementary therapies offered within the OICC and the integration of our therapies with the conventional cancer care system.

Teaching and spreading the word of OICC research through various dissemination activities ensure the results of our work are shared with the broader integrative oncology community, and that our clinical care is informed by the most up-to-date evidence in the field. Examples of dissemination activities includes publication in peer reviewed journals, educational sessions with practitioners in clinic and to others through continuing education, through patient seminars, and at conferences in the broader medical research community.

Voices of Support

 

“I applaud the OICC’s commitment to being a leader in integrative oncology research. From interactions with mutual patients, I realize that the clinical care provided by the OICC has real value to the people under our care, and that this care can and should be expanded to others. With the research that we’ve done together already and the approach you take in science and clinical care, I believe the OICC will achieve great prominence as a valuable resource for patients.”

Andrew J.E. Seely, MD, PhD, FRCSC
Associate Scientist, Ottawa Health Research Institute
Associate Professor of Surgery, University of Ottawa
Research Director, Division of Thoracic Surgery and Critical Care Medicine of The Ottawa Hospital


view all voices

Latest Blog Posts

Be inspired by Pam and Susan. Sponsor their walk!

Join World Champion Curler Craig Savill - half marathon May 28th!

What if Death is Not a Failure?

Go to Blog

Améliorer la qualité de vie

Cadre

Nous effectuons des recherches sur l’efficacité de nouveaux produits de santé naturels et thérapies, et nous transmettons des renseignements fiables, fondés sur des preuves scientifiques, à nos patients, aux membres de leur famille et aux fournisseurs de soins de santé.


La recherche est capitale pour l’avancement de l’oncologie intégrative

L’objectif visé par le programme de recherche du CCIO est de faire avancer la pratique de l’oncologie intégrative au Canada. Pour ce faire, notre équipe de recherche collabore avec un certain nombre de partenaires universitaires, administratifs, cliniques et de patients afin de mener des recherches primaires dans deux domaines principaux :

1.    l’innocuité, l’efficacité et le coût des thérapies complémentaires;
2.    l’élaboration et l’évaluation des modèles d’oncologie intégrative.

Le programme de recherche du CCIO repose sur les efforts constants qui sont faits pour établir un cadre et un calendrier de recherche en oncologie intégrative au Canada.

Un nouveau cadre de recherche attire l’attention sur cinq domaines de recherche prioritaires qui sont capitaux pour l’avancement de la pratique et des politiques sur l’oncologie intégrative :

  • l’efficacité clinique;
  • l’innocuité;
  • le contexte économique des soins;
  • l’élaboration et l’évaluation des modèles d’oncologie intégrative;
  • le transfert des connaissances.

Notre programme de recherche est organisé de manière à examiner ces cinq domaines prioritaires afin de mieux évaluer et concevoir les thérapies complémentaires personnalisées offertes au CCIO de même que l’intégration de ces thérapies dans le système des soins conventionnels aux personnes atteintes de cancer.

L’enseignement et la transmission des recherches du CCIO à l’aide de diverses activités de diffusion nous assurent que les résultats de nos travaux sont partagés avec la grande communauté de l’oncologie intégrative et que nos soins cliniques reposent sur les preuves les plus à jour dans ce domaine. Les activités de diffusion comprennent la publication d’articles dans des revues examinées par des pairs, des séances de formation avec des praticiens en clinique et d’autres grâce à la formation continue, par le biais de séminaires à l’intention des patients et à l’occasion de congrès dans le grand milieu de la recherche médicale.