Improving Quality of Life

Cancer Care

Quick Contact

29 Bayswater Avenue

Ottawa, Ontario K1Y 2E5

View Location Map

Our Treatment Approach

OICC patients are cared for by an interdisciplinary team of licensed practitioners experienced in caring for people with cancer.

Patients are welcome at any stage of their cancer journey, and are encouraged to work with our team to develop a course of complementary care. We are here for people interested in receiving complementary support alongside conventional treatments and those seeking prevention of cancer or its recurrence.


 

Our goal is to improve quality of life

The OICC offers scientifically grounded, evidence-informed natural cancer care, to strengthen the immune system, to support the body’s inherent healing ability, and to help sustain wellness during aggressive cancer treatments. We believe in treating the whole person – the mind, body, and spirit. This includes the spiritual and psychological well-being of both the patient and affected friends and family.

We offer whole-person, patient-centered care

Our patients have the opportunity to receive naturopathic medical care, nutritional guidance, physiotherapy, massage and lymphedema therapy, acupuncture, yoga therapy, psychiatric assistance, and integrative medical care.

Our naturopathic doctors (NDs) have additional education in integrative cancer care and are all members of the Oncology Association of Naturopathic Physicians (OncANP). Here they act as a primary caregiver, ensuring that all facets of a person’s health are being addressed. Through whole-person, patient-centered cancer care, our NDs guide and monitor each patient through the right therapies at the right time. Sometimes patients are referred to the OICC to see a specific therapist and may not be interested in having one of our NDs as a primary caregiver. In these circumstances, our case managers oversee a patient’s experience at the Centre but always under the guidance of one of our naturopathic doctors.

The OICC’s philosophy of care includes a strong belief that family members should be present during initial consultations, and in discussions around developing and changing the integrative care plan. Our focus on the family, and not just the patient, is a means to strengthen relationships, which is part of the healing process.

We offer evidence-based, non-toxic therapies

Our naturopathic doctors (NDs) use natural, non-toxic therapies that support the whole person and stimulate inherent healing processes. The goal is to create a healthy internal and external environment, which is significant for individuals living with cancer. Our therapies are evaluated for their level evidence on both burden of risk and efficacy, and are given at doses and times that will not negatively impact conventional treatment.

We offer collaboration with conventional oncologists

We actively embrace open communication and collaboration with allied health professionals, conventional oncologists and surgeons in order to best support the body's healing, and to help patients cope with treatment-associated toxicity and side effects.

 

 

Latest Blog Posts

Getting started as a runner or walker

How to Stop Worrying With Mindfulness

What’s On Your Playlist?

Go to Blog

Améliorer la qualité de vie

Traitement du cancer

Nous joindre

29, avenue Bayswater

Ottawa, Ontario K1Y 2E5

Carte démontrant notre emplacement

Notre démarche thérapeutique

Une équipe interdisciplinaire de professionnels accrédités ayant l'expérience des soins aux personnes atteintes du cancer s'occupe des patients du CCIO.

Nous accueillons les patients à toutes les étapes de leur maladie et les encourageons à travailler avec notre équipe pour préparer un ensemble de soins complémentaires. Nous sommes là pour les personnes qui souhaitent recevoir un soutien complémentaire aux traitements traditionnels et les personnes qui veulent prévenir le cancer ou sa récurrence.


Notre but est d'améliorer la qualité de vie

Le CCIO offre des soins contre le cancer fondés sur des données scientifiques, naturels éclairés pour renforcer le système immunitaire, soutenir la capacité de guérison inhérente du corps et appuyer le bien-être pendant les traitements agressifs du cancer. Nous croyons au traitement holistique, soit du corps et de l'esprit. Cela comprend le bien-être spirituel et psychologique du patient et des amis et membres de la famille touchés.

Nous offrons des soins holistiques axés sur le patient

Nos patients ont la chance de recevoir des soins médicaux naturopathiques, des conseils en nutrition, de la physiothérapie, une massothérapie et le drainage du lymphoedème, de l'acupuncture, le yoga thérapeutique, une assistance psychiatrique et des soins médicaux intégratifs.

Nos principaux docteurs en naturopathie sont membre d'Oncology Association of Naturopathic Physicians (OncANP). Ces derniers agissent comme principaux fournisseurs de soins en s'assurant que sont traités tous les aspects de la santé de la personne. Les soins anticancéreux holistiques axés sur le patient permettent à nos DN de guider et de surveiller chaque patient pour leur offrir les bonnes thérapies complémentaires au bon moment. Les patients sont parfois renvoyés au CCIO pour consulter un thérapeute particulier et peuvent ne pas souhaiter avoir un de nos DN comme principal fournisseur de soins. Dans ces cas-là, nos gestionnaires de cas supervisent l'expérience du patient au Centre, mais toujours avec les conseils d'un de nos naturopathes.

La philosophie du traitement du CCIO comporte la conviction que les membres de la famille doivent être présents lors des premières consultations et des discussions entourant l'élaboration et l'adaptation du plan de soins intégratifs. Notre orientation sur la famille, et non uniquement sur le patient, est un moyen de renforcer les relations, ce qui fait partie du processus de guérison.

Nous offrons des thérapies non toxiques fondées sur des données probantes

Nos docteurs en naturopathie utilisent des thérapies naturelles non toxiques qui soutiennent la personne totale et en stimulent les processus de guérison inhérents. Le but est de créer un milieu interne et externe sain, ce qui est important pour les personnes atteintes du cancer. Nos thérapies sont évaluées selon le niveau de preuves tant pour le risque que l'efficacité, et sont prescrits à des doses et des moments qui ne nuiront pas au traitement traditionnel.

Nous offrons une collaboration avec les oncologues traditionnels

Nous épousons activement la communication et la collaboration avec les autres professionnels de la santé, les oncologues et chirurgiens traditionnels pour mieux encadrer la guérison du corps et aider le patient à faire face à la toxicité et aux effets secondaires du traitement.