Improving Quality of Life

Prevention of Recurrence

Life Beyond Cancer

As conventional treatments come to an end, it can be a challenge returning to a regular routine and life. For many, they have just undergone a life-changing experience -- from diagnosis, through treatment, to recovery. Low morale, anxiety and feelings of uncertainty for the future are common.


Almost all cancer patients experience some degree of fatigue after treatment. Although patients are told it is normal to feel fatigued, they are frequently unaware it is abnormal to live with this feeling for the rest of their lives.

Many people are not sure what to do next. The OICC is here to guide patients during and after treatment, and also through recovery. We teach people what they can do for themselves in the hope of preventing recurrence. We educate and empower people on how to take control of their own health.


Probability of Recurrence Can Be Reduced

Our naturopathic doctors and therapists use complementary therapies that can help increase the effectiveness of conventional treatment while reducing some of the harsh side effects. As a result, conventional treatment can be less debilitating, more easily tolerable without impinging on efficacy, and ultimately more effective to help prevent future complications, reducing the risk of secondary cancers.


As conventional practices work to destroy cancer cells, the environment surrounding these cells is also damaged. This compromises the immune system and disables the body’s natural defense mechanisms. When evidence-based naturopathic therapies are used alongside and after conventional treatment, to support the immune system, the probability of secondary diagnosis or cancer recurrence can be reduced.

We empower our patients with the knowledge they need to create healthier lifestyles, to strengthen their immune system, and to support their body’s inherent healing ability, through our whole-person approach to cancer care.

Voices of Support

 

“Integrative cancer care enhances conventional therapies and bolsters the prevention of recurrence. In addition, integrative oncology provides systematic strategies to prevent cancer through lifestyle modification, such as nutrition and exercise. Recognizing synergy from a whole systems approach, integrative oncology provides new models for dealing with the epidemic of cancer..”

Stephen Sagar, BSc (Hons), MB, BS, MRCP, FRCR, FRCPC
Radiation Oncologist
Past President, Society of Integrative Oncology
Professor of Oncology, McMaster University


view all voices

Latest Blog Posts

Massage Benefits for Cancer Patients

Myth: Massage therapy is not safe while living with cancer

The Skill of Receiving

Go to Blog

Améliorer la qualité de vie

Prévention de la récurrence

La vie au-delà du cancer

Lorsque les traitements conventionnels prennent fin, il peut être difficile de revenir à la routine et à la vie normale. Beaucoup de personnes ont vécu une expérience qui a changé leur vie : du diagnostic au rétablissement en passant par les traitements. Et il est courant qu’elles manquent de motivation, qu’elles souffrent d’anxiété et que leur avenir leur paraisse incertain.


Pratiquement tous les cancéreux ressentent de la fatigue à différents degrés après un traitement. Bien qu’on leur dise qu’il soit normal d’être fatigué, il est rare que les patients sachent qu’il n’est pas normal de vivre ainsi pendant le reste de leurs jours.

Un grand nombre de personnes ne savent pas quoi faire par la suite. Le CCIO est là pour guider les patients pendant et après un traitement, de même que tout au long du rétablissement. Nous leur enseignons ce qu’ils peuvent faire pour eux-mêmes dans l’espoir d’éviter la réapparition de la maladie. Nous les informons et leur donnons les moyens de prendre leur santé en main.


On peut réduire la probabilité de la récurrence

Nos docteurs en naturopathie et nos thérapeutes ont recours à des thérapies complémentaires qui peuvent faire augmenter l’efficacité d’un traitement conventionnel, tout en réduisant certains de ses effets secondaires graves. Par conséquent, le traitement conventionnel peut être moins invalidant, plus facile à tolérer sans toutefois nuire à son efficacité et, en fin de compte, être plus utile pour prévenir les futures complications, faisant ainsi diminuer le risque de développer un cancer secondaire.


Puisque les pratiques conventionnelles cherchent à détruire les cellules cancéreuses, l’environnement de ces cellules subit lui aussi des dommages, ce qui compromet le système immunitaire et inhibe les mécanismes de défense naturelle du corps. En employant des thérapies naturopathiques fondées sur des preuves scientifiques pendant et après un traitement conventionnel, pour stimuler le système immunitaire, on peut réduire la probabilité d’un diagnostic secondaire ou la réapparition du cancer.

Nous aidons nos patients à se prendre en charge en leur transmettant les connaissances dont ils ont besoin pour adopter un mode de vie plus sain, renforcer leur système immunitaire et stimuler la capacité naturelle de leur corps à se soigner, grâce à notre approche holistique des soins contre le cancer.