Improving Quality of Life

Prevention

Cancer is the leading cause of death in Canada and is reaching epidemic proportions, according to the Canadian Cancer Society. Yet many cancers are actually preventable.


Many cancers are preventable

In fact, about 40% of all forms of cancer can be prevented by eating a well-balanced diet, maintaining a normal body weight and engaging in a moderate amount of exercise.

These were findings described in the report “Food, Nutrition and the Prevention of Cancer: A Global Perspective”, which was commissioned by the World Cancer Research Fund and published in 2007. This represents the most extensive and systematic report on the subject, involving 286 specialists. The panels of experts went through 500,000 scientific articles concerning 17 different types of cancer.

In order to reduce overall incidence of this debilitating disease, increased focus on prevention is absolutely paramount.

The overwhelming focus of cancer research today is on pharmaceutical therapies to treat cancer. Less than 5% of all funding is dedicated to primary prevention and the determination of environmental links to the disease. It is universally acknowledged that funding and research for the prevention of cancer falls far short of where it should be.

The OICC is committed to addressing these gaps in research. We are committed to researching the underlying causes of cancer and the factors that contribute to its recurrence, and to bringing evidence-informed, reliable information to patients and their families.


Common risk factors

There is no single cause of cancer but many factors are known to increase risk:

  • Nutritional imbalances:  resulting from dietary excess or undernutrition
  • Psychological influences:  stress and mental outlook
  • Insufficient exercise
  • Environmental influences:
  • Air and water pollution
  • Occupational exposures
  • Chemicals in building materials
  • Sunlight and radiation
  • Consumer products
  • Food chemicals
  • Radon exposure 
  • Cigarette smoking
  • Some pharmaceutical medications
  • Lifetime hormonal exposure
  • Family history

Our whole-person approach to primary prevention

Perhaps someone has a family history of cancer, or they may simply be interested in reducing their chances of developing the disease. In either case, the OICC is here to guide our patients through a preventative lifestyle.


Our naturopathic doctors and therapists emphasize prevention of illness through education and promotion of healthy lifestyle habits. The focus is on the whole person, not just a single condition or illness. To maintain and restore health, we strive to create a healthy environment both inside and outside the body, using safe, natural therapies to strengthen the body's immune system and inherent ability to heal itself.

Naturopathic medicine incorporates therapies which support whole-body wellness including the immune system, digestion, sleep and energy levels.

We emphasize key strategies for prevention:

  • Balanced lifestyle
  • Healthy dietary habits
  • Detoxification
  • Daily exercise
  • Environmental awareness
  • Emotional support
  • Non-denominational spirituality

Voices of Support

 

“Integrative cancer care enhances conventional therapies and bolsters the prevention of recurrence. In addition, integrative oncology provides systematic strategies to prevent cancer through lifestyle modification, such as nutrition and exercise. Recognizing synergy from a whole systems approach, integrative oncology provides new models for dealing with the epidemic of cancer..”

Stephen Sagar, BSc (Hons), MB, BS, MRCP, FRCR, FRCPC
Radiation Oncologist
Past President, Society of Integrative Oncology
Professor of Oncology, McMaster University


view all voices

 

 

Latest Blog Posts

Be inspired by Pam and Susan. Sponsor their walk!

Join World Champion Curler Craig Savill - half marathon May 28th!

What if Death is Not a Failure?

Go to Blog

Améliorer la qualité de vie

Prévention

Le cancer est la principale cause de décès au Canada, atteignant maintenant des proportions épidémiques, selon la Société canadienne du cancer. Or, il est effectivement possible de prévenir beaucoup de formes de cancer.


On peut prévenir beaucoup de cancers

En effet, on peut prévenir environ 40 % de toutes les formes de cancer en adoptant un régime alimentaire équilibré, en maintenant un poids normal et en faisant de l’exercice de façon modérée.

Voilà les constatations décrites dans le rapport intitulé « Alimentation, Nutrition, Activité Physique et Prévention du Cancer : une Perspective Mondiale », commandé par le Fonds Mondial de Recherche contre le Cancer et publié en 2007 (résumé disponible en français). Il s’agit du rapport le plus exhaustif et le plus systématique sur la question, préparé avec le concours de 286 spécialistes. Les panels d’experts ont parcouru 500 000 articles scientifiques traitant de 17 types de cancer.

Afin de réduire l’incidence générale de cette maladie débilitante, il est absolument essentiel d’accorder plus d’importance à la prévention.

De nos jours, les recherches sur le cancer portent immanquablement sur les pharmacothérapies employées pour traiter le cancer. Moins de 5 pour cent de tous les fonds sont consacrés à la prévention primaire et à l’établissement des liens entre l’environnement et la maladie. Or, il est universellement reconnu que le financement et la recherche sur la prévention du cancer sont bien loin de répondre aux besoins.

Le CCIO est déterminé à combler ces lacunes dans la recherche. Nous nous engageons à mener des recherches sur les causes sous-jacentes du cancer et sur les facteurs qui contribuent à sa réapparition, de même qu’à fournir aux patients et aux membres de leur famille des renseignements fiables et fondés sur des preuves scientifiques.


Facteurs de risque les plus courants

Il n’y a pas une seule cause du cancer, mais beaucoup de facteurs qui en font augmenter le risque sont connus :

  • les déséquilibres nutritionnels : causés par la consommation excessive de calories ou par la sous alimentation;
  • les influences psychologiques : le stress et l’état d’esprit;
  • le manque d’activité physique;
  • les influences de l’environnement :
    • la pollution de l’air et de l’eau;
    • l’exposition professionnelle;
    • les produits chimiques présents dans les matériaux de construction;
    • le soleil et le rayonnement;
    • les produits de consommation;
    • les produits chimiques alimentaires;
    • l’exposition au radon.
  • l’usage de la cigarette;
  • certains produits pharmaceutiques;
  • l’exposition hormonale durant toute la vie;
  • les antécédents familiaux.

Notre approche holistique de la prévention primaire

Une personne peut avoir des antécédents familiaux de cancer ou elle peut tout simplement souhaiter réduire ses risques de développer cette maladie. Dans un cas comme dans l’autre, le CCIO est là pour orienter ses patients vers un mode de vie préventif.


Nos docteurs en naturopathie et nos thérapeutes insistent sur la prévention de la maladie par la sensibilisation et la promotion de saines habitudes de vie. L’élément important est la personne dans son intégralité et non simplement un état ou une maladie. Pour que les gens puissent rester en santé et se rétablir, nous cherchons à créer un environnement sain, tant à l’intérieur du corps qu’à l’extérieur, en employant des thérapies naturelles sûres pour renforcer le système immunitaire et sa capacité naturelle à se guérir.

La médecine naturopathique comporte des thérapies qui favorisent le bien être global du corps, notamment le système immunitaire, la digestion, le sommeil et le niveau d’énergie.

Nous privilégions des stratégies de prévention clés :

  • un mode de vie équilibré;
  • de saines habitudes alimentaires;
  • la désintoxication;
  • de l’activité physique tous les jours;
  • la sensibilisation à l’environnement;
  • le soutien affectif;
  • la spiritualité non confessionnelle.