Improving Quality of Life

About Us

Quick Contact

29 Bayswater Avenue

Ottawa, Ontario K1Y 2E5

View Location Map

What is the OICC?

The OICC is the first integrative cancer care and research centre of its kind in Eastern Canada. The Centre was established to provide the best in integrative cancer care, to improve the quality of life of those touched by this debilitating disease.


 

Employing an individualized whole-person care approach, we are here for cancer patients interested in receiving complementary support alongside conventional treatments and those seeking prevention of cancer or its recurrence. We work with patients, their families, and their oncologists, surgeons, and family doctors, to develop complementary, therapeutic programs that can help to optimize overall wellness.

Through our clinical practice, research and education, we strive to assess and reduce the possible causes of cancer while exploring innovative integrative treatment approaches.

The OICC is a not-for-profit regional centre of  the Canadian College of Naturopathic Medicine, a registered charity providing education and research in naturopathic and complementary medicine since 1978.


Clinical Care

Our team of regulated health-care practitioners have training in naturopathic medicine, family therapy, physiotherapy, psychiatry, crisis management, nutrition, acupuncture, massage therapy, lymphedema and lymphatic drainage, exercise therapy and yoga. We work with our patients and their families to help decrease the side effects of cancer treatment; improve energy, well-being and overall quality of life; balance the body’s immune system; support the mind, body and spirit in the healing process; and provide strategies for cancer prevention and health maintenance. Subsidized care is available for patients who cannot afford costs not covered by insurance or OHIP, through our Whole-Person Cancer Care Regardless of Income program.


Research

The OICC is committed to building the evidence base in the emerging field of integrative oncology through high-impact research. Forging new frontiers, the OICC is developing a collaborative network to advance research and treatment efforts. The Centre aims to be a hub for both the conduct and teaching of innovative, ethical research into complementary approaches.


Education

The OICC is driven to educate and empower people with cancer, or those attempting to prevent cancer, on how best to take control of their own health. Patients are encouraged to take an active role in their healing process through the adoption of self-care practices that support their body, mind and spirit. For instance, they learn about the role of nutrition, enabling them to make wise food choices that may hinder rather than promote cancer growth. By working with partners the OICC actively engages in patient, community, association and institutional education, through year-round workshops, seminars and online learning.

Voices of Support

“For far too long, disciplines have worked in isolation without communication and our patients have often felt caught between differing therapeutic philosophies, often to their detriment. This is a wonderful initiative. An integrative program will help provide a much needed bridge.”

Shailendra Verma, MD, FRCPC, FACP (chair)
Medical Oncologist, The Ottawa Hospital 


view all voices

Latest Blog Posts

The Skill of Receiving

Authenticity is the New Positivity

Book Review: The Bright Hour. A Memoir of Living and Dying by Nina Riggs

Go to Blog

Améliorer la qualité de vie

À propos de nous

Nous joindre

29, avenue Bayswater

Ottawa, Ontario K1Y 2E5

Carte démontrant notre emplacement

Centre de cancérologie intégrative d’Ottawa (CCIO)

Le CCIO est le premier centre de cancérologie intégrative et de recherche de son genre dans l'est du Canada. Il a été créé pour fournir les meilleurs soins cancérologiques intégratifs et pour améliorer la qualité de vie des personnes touchées par cette maladie débilitante.


Nous employons une démarche holistique personnalisée pour les cancéreux qui souhaitent recevoir un soutien complémentaire aux traitements traditionnels et les personnes qui veulent prévenir le cancer ou sa récurrence. Nous travaillons avec les patients, leur famille et leur oncologue, chirurgien et médecin généraliste pour monter un programme thérapeutique complémentaire qui peut aider à optimiser la santé générale.

Nous tentons d'évaluer et de réduire les causes possibles du cancer, au moyen de la pratique clinique, de la recherche et de l'éducation, tout en explorant des traitements thérapeutiques intégratifs innovants.

Le CCIO est un centre régional sans but lucratif du Canadian College of Naturopathic Medicine, un organisme de bienfaisance enregistré offrant éducation et recherche en naturopathie et en médecine complémentaire depuis 1978.


Soins cliniques

Notre équipe de praticiens des soins de santé réglementés ont une formation en naturopathie, en thérapie familiale, en physiothérapie, en psychiatrie, en gestion de crise, en nutrition, en acupuncture, en massothérapie, en drainage lymphatique et du lymphoedème, en gymnastique rééducative et en yoga. Nous travaillons avec nos patients et leur famille pour réduire les effets secondaires du traitement du cancer, pour améliorer l'énergie, le bien-être et la qualité de vie générale, pour équilibrer le système immunitaire du corps, pour soutenir l'esprit et le corps pendant le processus de guérison et pour offrir des stratégies de prévention du cancer et de maintien de la santé. Nous offrons des soins subventionnés aux patients qui ne peuvent pas débourser les frais non couverts par l'assurance ou l'Assurance-santé de l'Ontario, grâce à notre programme Soins holistiques aux personnes atteintes du cancer sans égard au revenu.


Recherche

Le CCIO est engagé dans l'édification de la base de données probantes dans le domaine émergeant de l'oncologie intégrative grâce à la recherche à fortes incidences. Ouvrant de nouveaux territoires, le CCIO développe un réseau de collaboration pour faire avancer la recherche et le traitement. Le Centre aspire à devenir un centre pour la conduite et l'enseignement de la recherche innovante et éthique sur les démarches complémentaires.


Éducation

Le CCIO a pour but de sensibiliser et d'habiliter les personnes atteintes de cancer, ou qui tentent de le prévenir, au meilleur moyen de contrôler leur propre santé. On encourage les patients à jouer un rôle actif dans leur processus de guérison en adoptant des pratiques de soins personnels qui soutiennent leur corps et leur esprit. Par exemple, ils apprennent le rôle de la nutrition, ce qui leur permet de faire des choix alimentaires sains qui peuvent entraver plutôt que favoriser la croissance du cancer. Le CCIO travaille avec des partenaires et s'engage activement dans la sensibilisation des patients, de la collectivité, des associations et des établissements d'enseignement au moyen d'ateliers, de séminaires et de formation en ligne tout au long de l'année.