Improving Quality of Life

About Us

Quick Contact

29 Bayswater Avenue

Ottawa, Ontario K1Y 2E5

View Location Map

Voices of Support

"For far too long, disciplines have worked in isolation without communication and our patients have often felt caught between differing therapeutic philosophies, often to their detriment. This is a wonderful initiative. An integrative program will help provide a much needed bridge."

Shailendra Verma, MD, FRCPC, FACP (chair)
Medical Oncologist, The Ottawa Hospital


“I applaud the OICC’s commitment to being a leader in integrative oncology research. From interactions with mutual patients, I realize that the clinical care provided by the OICC has real value to the people under our care, and that this care can and should be expand to others. With the research that we’ve done together already and the approach you take in science and clinical care, I believe the OICC will achieve great prominence as a valuable resource for patients.”

Andrew J.E. Seely, MD, PhD, FRCSC
Associate Scientist, Ottawa Health Research Institute
Associate Professor of Surgery, University of Ottawa
Research Director, Division of Thoracic Surgery and Critical Care Medicine of The Ottawa Hospital


“The Cancer Foundation strongly supports the complementary approach to cancer care and is pleased to partner with the OICC to make this education module available to cancer patients and survivors visiting the Maplesoft Centre.  We ran a pilot program in the fall of 2011 which was overwhelmingly popular. People felt empowered and excited to learn about the benefits of complementary and naturopathic medicine. We believe the program’s teachings will have lasting impact on the care of cancer patients in the Ottawa region.”

Linda Eagen, President & CEO
Ottawa Regional Cancer Foundation


"Integrative cancer care enhances conventional therapies and bolsters the prevention of recurrence. In addition, integrative oncology provides systematic strategies to prevent cancer through lifestyle modification, such as nutrition and exercise. Recognizing synergy from a whole systems approach, integrative oncology provides new models for dealing with the epidemic of cancer."

Stephen Sagar, BSc (Hons), MB, BS, MRCP, FRCR, FRCPC
Radiation Oncologist
Past President, Society of Integrative Oncology
Professor of Oncology, McMaster University


"Educating and training our next generation of cancer care professionals, and the general public, in the principals of integrative oncology is essential to improving cancer care in Canada. The OICC provides much needed and trusted information and resources that are grounded in evidence to empower people to take charge of their health and the environment that surrounds them."

Lynda G. Balneaves, RN, PhD
Associate Professor and CIHR New Investigator
UBC School of Nursing
Principal Investigator
CAMEO Program, BC Cancer Agency


"Cancer care and treatment has developed into a complicated network of interventions influenced by many contextual factors. Therefore, the evaluation of cancer care requires a whole systems research approach, using both qualitative and quantitative methods that capture this complexity and do justice to patient centred care. The OICC facilitates this kind of research in an environment well suited to truly whole person patient centred care."

Marja J. Verhoef, PhD, Professor
Canada Research Chair in Complementary Medicine
Dept. of Community Health Sciences, Faculty of Medicine,
University of Calgary

Voices of Support

 

“People feel empowered and excited to learn about the benefits of complementary and naturopathic medicine. We believe the Integral Healing program’s teachings will have lasting impact on the care of cancer patients in the Ottawa region.”

Linda Eagen, President and CEO of the Cancer Foundation


view all voices

Latest Blog Posts

Massage Therapy for Gardeners

Seely Siblings Run to Support Integrative Patient Centered Cancer Care at the OICC

Join Dr. Alex Keller, ND & Keller Active Health in the Scotiabank Charity Challenge at Tamarack Race Weekend!

Go to Blog

Améliorer la qualité de vie

À propos de nous

Nous joindre

29, avenue Bayswater

Ottawa, Ontario K1Y 2E5

Carte démontrant notre emplacement

Messages de soutien

« Trop longtemps, les disciplines ont œuvré en vase clos, sans communication, et nos patients se sont souvent sentis pris entre des philosophies thérapeutiques différentes, souvent à leur détriment. C'est une merveilleuse initiative. Un programme intégratif constituera un pont vraiment nécessaire. »

Shailendra Verma, MD, FRCPC, FACP (président)
oncologue médical, Hôpital d'Ottawa


« J'applaudis l'engagement du CCIO à devenir chef de file en recherche sur l'oncologie intégrative. À partir de mes contacts avec des patients mutuels, j'ai pris conscience que les soins cliniques fournis par le CCIO sont précieux pour les personnes que nous soignons et que ces soins peuvent et doivent être fournis aux autres. Avec la recherche que nous avons déjà effectuée ensemble et la démarche que vous adoptez en science et en soins cliniques, je pense que le CCIO se fera une réputation de ressource précieuse pour les patients. »

Andrew J.E. Seely, MD, PhD, FRCSC
scientifique associé, Institut de recherche en santé d'Ottawa
professeur associé de chirurgie, Université d'Ottawa
directeur de recherche, Division de la chirurgie thoracique et de médecine des soins intensifs de l'Hôpital d'Ottawa


« La Fondation du cancer appuie fortement la démarche complémentaire de soins anticancéreux et est ravie de s'associer au CCIO pour mettre ce module de sensibilisation à la disposition des patients et survivants qui visitent le Centre Maplesoft. Nous avons lancé un programme pilote à l'automne 2011 qui est devenu très populaire. Les gens se sentaient habilités et stimulés en apprenant les avantages de la médecine complémentaire et naturopathique. Nous pensons que les enseignements de ce programme auront un effet durable sur les soins aux patients atteints de cancer dans la région d'Ottawa. »

Linda Eagen, première dirigeante et directrice générale
Fondation du cancer de la région d'Ottawa


« Les soins intégratifs du cancer améliorent les thérapies traditionnelles et renforcent la prévention des récurrences. De plus, l'oncologie intégrative offre des stratégies systématiques pour prévenir le cancer grâce à la modification du mode de vie, comme la nutrition et l'exercice. Reconnaissant la synergie de la démarche holistique, l'oncologie intégrative fournit de nouveaux modèles pour traiter l'épidémie de cancer. »

Stephen Sagar, BSc (Hons), MB, BS, MRCP, FRCR, FRCPC
radio-oncologue
ancien président, Society of Integrative Oncology
professeur d'oncologie, Université McMaster


« La sensibilisation et la formation de la prochaine génération de professionnels des soins du cancer, et du grand public, aux principes de l'oncologie intégrative sont essentielles pour améliorer les soins anticancéreux au Canada. Le CCIO fournit de l'information et des ressources vraiment nécessaires et fiables qui sont fondées sur des données probantes pour permettre aux gens d'assumer leur santé
et leur milieu. »

Lynda G. Balneaves, RN, PhD
professeure associée et nouvelle chercheuse de l'IRSC
UBC School of Nursing
chercheuse principale
Programme CAMEO, BC Cancer Agency


« Les soins et le traitement des personnes atteintes du cancer ont suscité un réseau compliqué d'intervention influencé par plusieurs facteurs. Par conséquent, l'évaluation des soins anticancéreux exige une démarche de recherche sur les systèmes globaux, en ayant recours à des méthodes quantitatives et qualitatives qui saisissent cette complexité et rendent justice aux soins axés sur le patient. Le CCIO facilite ce genre de recherche dans un milieu bien adapté aux soins holistiques axés sur les patients. »

Marja J. Verhoef, PhD, professeure
Canada Research Chair in Complementary Medicine
Dept. of Community Health Sciences, Faculty of Medicine,
University of Calgary