Improving Quality of Life

About Us

Quick Contact

29 Bayswater Avenue

Ottawa, Ontario K1Y 2E5

View Location Map

Partners

LOCAL

Champlain Regional Cancer Program

The Champlain Regional Cancer Program and its Ottawa Hospital Cancer Centre affiliates are addressing key issues that its patient base has requested through its Wellness after Cancer program and are carefully considering the role of complementary therapies and survivorship needs in cancer care. As a result of this patient-driven mandate, the OICC has been invited to join in the discussion to outline how our Centre is a strategic and responsible partner in answering these needs.

Ottawa Hospital Research Institute

The Ottawa Hospital Research Institute (OHRI) is the research arm of the Ottawa Hospital and an affiliated institute of the University of Ottawa. Affiliated researchers at the OICC collaborate with the OHRI and will continue to do so to develop critical research needed to move integrative oncology forward in Canada.

Associations

Organizations such the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society of Canada, Prostate Cancer Canada Network Ottawa, the Colorectal Cancer Association of Canada,  the Multiple Myeloma Support Group of Ottawa, and Prevent Cancer Now  have invited us to speak to their members to promote public awareness of whole-person cancer care.

Business

The Natural Food Pantry and Rainbow Foods are other groups with whom the OICC is working locally to educate the public about whole-person cancer care and prevention.


NATIONAL

Research Councils

There are a number of nationally based research councils working directly with the OICC to help shape the direction of our treatment, research and education arms.

The Complementary Medicine Education and Outcomes Program (CAMEO), focuses on knowledge translation, studying the complementary and alternative medicine (CAM) needs of people living with cancer, their support persons, and health care providers, and developing programs and resources to help address those needs. CAMEO brings the latest CAM research to the conventional cancer care setting through education courses and lectures, published documents, and individualized information and decision support consultations.

The Integrative Canadian Oncology (ICON) Research Initiative aims to provide a vision and a voice for integrative oncology research in Canada. Their objectives are to conduct research and use innovative approaches to the investigation of integrative oncology; synthesize knowledge related to integrative oncology; and facilitate knowledge dissemination and exchange that impacts integrative oncology practice, policy and future research.

The Canadian Interdisciplinary Network for CAM Research (IN-CAM)  is an interdisciplinary, collaborative research network, created to foster excellence in complementary and alternative medicine (CAM) research in Canada.

 
Knowledge Translation Networks

Cancer Knowledge Network (CKN) and the OICC have formed a unique partnership, the first of its kind in Canada. The goal is to create a Canada wide peer-reviewed resource to educate and inform oncologists and patients about Integrative Oncology. The information is presented in a practical format so it can be referred to on a daily basis, to provide the opportunity for oncologists, patients and their caregivers to discuss topics that are relevant to their cancer experience.  CKN provides valuable, practical resources for people living with cancer, the doctors who treat them, and the loved ones who care for them.  CKN offers a wealth of freely accessible information, research findings, practical information, first-person accounts, and other useful materials – all carefully selected by experts.



 


INTERNATIONAL

The Society for Integrative Oncology (SIO) includes membership from such distinguished groups as the Cancer Treatment Centers of America, the MD Anderson Cancer Center, the Block Cancer Centre, as well as the Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Centre in New York, a non-profit, multi-disciplinary organization of professionals dedicated to studying and facilitating cancer treatment and the recovery process through the use of integrated complementary therapeutic options. As members of the SIO, our OICC naturopathic doctors and researchers have given numerous lectures at the annual SIO conference in recent years and are helping to shape the agenda for integrative oncology research and treatment from a Canadian perspective.

Voices of Support

 

“People feel empowered and excited to learn about the benefits of complementary and naturopathic medicine. We believe the Integral Healing program’s teachings will have lasting impact on the care of cancer patients in the Ottawa region.”

Linda Eagen, President and CEO of the Cancer Foundation


view all voices

Latest Blog Posts

Book Review: The Bright Hour. A Memoir of Living and Dying by Nina Riggs

Probing the World of Probiotics: Interview with an Expert

Reflexology and Cancer

Go to Blog

Améliorer la qualité de vie

À propos de nous

Nous joindre

29, avenue Bayswater

Ottawa, Ontario K1Y 2E5

Carte démontrant notre emplacement

Partenaires

LOCAUX

Programme régional de cancérologie Champlain

Le Programme régional de cancérologie Champlain et ses affiliés du Centre de cancérologie de l'Hôpital d'Ottawa répondent à des besoins importants que ses patients ont réclamés lors du programme de Bien-être après cancer et qui tiennent compte du rôle des thérapies complémentaires et des besoins des survivants après traitement anticancéreux. Ce mandat réclamé par les patients a amené le CCIO à se joindre aux discussions pour déterminer comment notre Centre est un partenaire stratégique et responsable pour répondre à ces besoins.

Institut de recherche en santé d'Ottawa

L'Institut de recherche en santé d'Ottawa (IRSO) est le bras de la recherche de l'Hôpital d'Ottawa et est affilié à l'Université d'Ottawa. Les chercheurs affiliés au CCIO collaborent avec l'IRSO et continueront de le faire pour réaliser la recherche essentielle à l'avancement de l'oncologie intégrative au Canada.

Associations

Les organisations comme la Société de leucémie et lymphome du Canada, le Prostate Cancer Canada Network Ottawa, l'Association canadienne du cancer colorectal, le Multiple Myeloma Support Group of Ottawa et Prevent Cancer Now nous ont invités à parler à leurs membres pour les sensibiliser aux soins holistiques du cancer.

Entreprise

La Rainbow Foods sont d'autres groupes avec qui le CCIO travaille localement à sensibiliser le public aux soins holistiques et à la prévention du cancer.


NATIONAL

Conseils de recherche

Il y a plusieurs conseils de recherche nationaux qui travaillent directement avec le CCIO à orienter nos volets traitement, recherche et éducation.

Le programme Complementary Medicine Education and Outcomes (CAMEO) est axé sur le transfert des connaissances, l'étude des besoins en médecine complémentaire et alternative des personnes atteintes du cancer, des personnes de soutien et des fournisseurs de soins de santé, et sur le développement de programmes et de ressources pour combler ses besoins. CAMEO introduit la recherche en médecine complémentaire et alternative la plus récente dans le cadre traditionnel du cancer au moyen de cours de formation et de conférences, de documents publiés, d'information personnalisée et de consultations sur la prise de décision.

L'Initiative de recherche de l'Integrative Canadian Oncology (ICON) a pour but de fournir une vision et une voix à la recherche sur l'oncologie intégrative au Canada. Ses objectifs sont d'effectuer de la recherche et d'avoir recours à des démarches innovantes pour explorer l'oncologie intégrative, synthétiser les connaissances relatives à l'oncologie intégrative et faciliter la diffusion et le partage des connaissances qui influencent la pratique, la politique et la recherche à venir sur l'oncologie intégrative.

Le Canadian Interdisciplinary Network for CAM Research (IN-CAM) est un réseau de recherche interdisciplinaire en participation créé pour promouvoir l'excellence en recherche sur la médecine complémentaire et alternative au Canada.

Réseau de transfert des connaissances

Le Cancer Knowledge Network (CKN) et le CCIO ont formé un partenariat unique, le premier de son genre au Canada. Son but est de créer une ressource pancanadienne évaluée par les pairs pour sensibiliser et informer les oncologues et les patients à l'oncologie intégrative. L'information est présentée sous un format pratique pour qu'on puisse le consulter quotidiennement et ainsi donner aux oncologues, aux patients et aux personnes qui les soignent l'occasion de discuter des sujets pertinents à leur expérience du cancer. Le CKN offre des ressources précieuses et pratiques aux personnes atteintes du cancer, aux médecins qui les traitent et aux proches qui s'en occupent. Le CKN offre une multitude de renseignements, de résultats de recherche, d'information pratique, de témoignages et d'autres documents utiles librement accessibles, tous soigneusement choisis par des experts.


INTERNATIONAL

La Society for Integrative Oncology (SIO) est composée de groupes distingués comme les Cancer Treatment Centers of America, le MD Anderson Cancer Center, le Block Cancer Centre, de même que le Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Centre à New York, un organisme sans but lucratif pluridisciplinaire de professionnels dédiés à l'étude et à la facilitation du traitement du cancer et au processus de récupération au moyen de solutions thérapeutiques complémentaires intégrées. À titre de membres de la SIO, nos docteurs et chercheurs en naturopathie ont donné de nombreuses conférences aux congrès annuels du SIO pendant les dernières années et contribuent à monter un plan d'action pour la recherche sur l'oncologie intégrative et le traitement du point de vue canadien.