Improving Quality of Life

Community Advisory Board

John Kelly, Chairman


“What really motivates me is how the OICC is committed to working alongside, and together with, conventional cancer care professionals and researchers. The OICC is filling a gap within the cancer care system. When I hear patients’ stories I see the tremendous impact the Centre is having on those living with cancer. I am inspired to help grow the Centre, to ensure anyone who faces cancer has access to this complementary care.” 



John has 44 years of entrepreneurial and executive experience in the technology sector. One of Ottawa’s most respected serial entrepreneurs, John is co-founder of Murphy Business Ottawa and also co-owner of Comfort Keepers, a homecare business.  He is the former CEO of JetForm Corporation, and founded several businesses, including and among others SHL Systemhouse and NABU Network Corporation. John is a board member of several private and public companies, as well as former chair of the United Way Ottawa Campaign, and former honorary chair of the Canadian Cancer Society’s Relay for Life. 

John has received many honors and awards including Master Entrepreneur of the Year, Ontario (1997), Most Respected CEO, Ottawa (1998), Civic Entrepreneur of the Year, Ottawa (1999), Ottawa Business Man of the Year(2001) and Chair of the United Way Campaign  (Ottawa, 2000).  He was awarded the Governor General Diamond Jubilee Medal (2012) and the Ottawa Lifetime Achievement Award (2012).  In May 2014, Kelly was honoured at the 29th Annual CATAAlliance Innovation Awards for his outstanding technological innovation and corporate leadership which has significantly expanded the frontiers of Canada's advanced technology industry.  The award was sponsored by the Telfer School of Management of the University of Ottawa and was voted on by CATA members. He holds an honors Bachelor of Business Administration degree in Finance from Iona College, an honors Law degree from the University of Ottawa, and an honorary Doctorate from the University of Ottawa.

Sandra Harvey

“The research that the OICC is doing is very exciting to demonstrate the impact of complementary medicine when working alongside conventional medicine. The OICC mission to encourage collaboration between all types of medical practitioners for the overall health and comfort of the patient is why I choose to be a cheerleader of the OICC.  There can be no downside to this approach.” 

Sandra is co-founder of Murphy Business Ottawa.  She has over 15 years of experience in financial, operational and general management of independent businesses.  Her background provides her with a diverse skill set ideal for both executing the technical aspects and managing the non-technical elements during the sale transaction.

Sandra completed her MBA in 2006 and has a Bachelor of Commerce (Accounting) from the University of Ottawa.  She is a member of Leaders at Heart (University of Ottawa Heart Institute), CAFÉ Canadian Association of Family Enterprise, the Ottawa Chamber of Commerce, Kanata Chamber of Commerce and Women’s Business Network.  She recently earned the Top 10 Producer award from Murphy Business and Financial for 2011 and 2012, and the Olga Howe Networker award from the WBN.

Jackie King

“I think this a critical development in our community. Ottawa has always been a city of innovation and on the leading edge of medical care - the OICC is further proof of that.  Not only will it help the people of our community dealing with cancer, it reinforces Ottawa's leadership in cancer care and treatment. OICC is at its infancy in terms of its potential in this city and I'm just so proud to be part of an amazing team to help it grow.”

With the firm since 1999, Jackie King is currently Senior Vice President and General Manager of Hill+Knowlton Strategies' Ottawa office, overseeing its public + corporate affairs, public engagement + research, procurement + trade and public sector communications groups.

Jackie is a seasoned professional with almost 15 years of experience in the field of strategic communications and business administration and in-depth experience in strategic planning, business and people management, stakeholder consultations and engagement, advocacy, issues management/crisis communication, corporate reputation, change and internal engagement/communications and dispute resolution. Her clients span a number of industries and sectors including:  government, aerospace and defence, health, energy, financial, natural resources, renewable fuels, technology, trade, transportation, and non-profit.

David Nostbakken

"Since the majority of cancer patients seek complementary or alternative care, the OICC provides a safe and professional approach. It blends naturopathic modalities with those of oncology. I support OICC because it is needed... and provides a missing ingredient in health practice."

David is president of N + N, an Ottawa-based communications company, specializing in strategic thinking and creative policy planning. David has been at the forefront of a variety of ground-breaking initiatives. He was Founding Executive Director and Chair of Vision TV, the world’s first multi-faith television network; Founding President and CEO of WETV, a global media network in 60 countries in support of expression of cultural diversity. As a Founder, Chair and Executive Vice President of Ecology Global Network he works with universities worldwide in exploring innovative uses of social networks and digital technologies in matters of sustainable development. He is an instructor at Carleton University and a McLuhan Fellow of the iSchool, University of Toronto.

David was involved with Power of Peace Network, a UNESCO-based digital service for improved cross-cultural dialogue, and China Green Channel International. He has been Director of Communications for the International Development Research Centre, and Director of Public Education for the Canadian Cancer Society. David has served on a variety of advisory councils and boards of directors, and currently chairs CCNM Enterprises and CCNM Press, the publishing arm of the Canadian College of Naturopathic Medicine (CCNM). Honours include two Canada Council Fellowship awards, the Queen’s Silver Jubilee Medal and the Gold Medal from the World Health Organization.

Rabbi Dr. Reuven P. Bulka

“The battle against cancer is multi-dimensional. OICC brings many dimensions together, and is a significant addition to our community's anti-cancer arsenal. Through the Community Advisory board, we hope to mobilize the community in this challenge. We are all in this together, because, in one way or another, we are all impacted by cancer.”

Rabbi Dr. Reuven P. Bulka, C.M., has been the spiritual leader of Congregation Machzikei Hadas in Ottawa since 1967. In addition to being an accomplished author of more than 35 books and countless articles in the fields of religion, health, and psychology, he is also host of Sunday Night with Rabbi Bulka on CFRA and regular contributor to "Ask the Religion Experts" in the Ottawa Citizen.

The Rabbi is renowned for his tireless commitment to the Ottawa community through service on charitable and civic boards and regular participation in charity events. He has received numerous awards, including the prestigious Gilbert Greenberg Distinguished Service Award for his exemplary service to the Jewish Community of Ottawa, and was the inaugural recipient of Scouts Canada's National Salute Award. He was cited for more than 300 blood donations, is on the board of Canadian Blood Services, and actively involved in the promotion of organ donation programs. Rabbi Bulka serves as Honorary Chaplain of the Dominion Command of the Royal Canadian Legion, chairs the Trillium Gift of Life Network as well as the Hospice Ottawa West campaign.  In 2006, he received an honorary Doctor of Laws from Carleton University for his community and humanitarian service, was awarded the "Key to the City" in February, 2010, and became a member of the Order of Canada in June, 2013.

Richard Patten

“The reason why I support the centre is because regular cancer treatment is too narrow in its approach. It can be more effective when supported with complementary care. We should be open to all approaches to treatment not just one.”

Richard is the former MPP for Ottawa Centre, as well as Ontario’s former Minister of Government Services and Minster of Correctional Services.  During his 5 years out of government he was the President of the Children’s Hospital Foundation of Eastern Ontario. Under his guidance, the children’s hospital’s first Research facility was built, attracting donors from around the world.

Prior to public life, Richard worked for the YMCA and served as President of the Canadian Council for International Cooperation. Upon leaving politics, he worked as a consultant with Plasco Energy Group and other start-ups in the environmental and innovative area. Currently Richard is consulting for ArrowMight, an organization focused on helping address the literacy needs of Canadians.  While Richard contributed immensely to his community through his public service, it is his volunteer efforts that have had the greatest impact. He established the Richard Patten Aboriginal Student Bursary to help alleviate financial barriers preventing students from getting post- secondary education, and presently, Richard fundraises for the Wabano Aborginal Community Health Centre.  He serves as a board member for various organizations.

Terry Vida

“I was diagnosed with breast cancer and at the time, the OICC did not exist.  I created my own version of that, by seeking the services of a naturopathic doctor, personal trainer, massage and acupuncture therapist, and intuitive coach.  I believe that my recovery was faster, less painful and allowed me to integrate this life-changing event into my life journey with my family.  The OICC provides these services and I would like to help potential clients and service providers understand the benefits that the OICC can provide for cancer patients and their caregivers and families.”

Terry Vida, a partner with ConversArt Consulting, is a bilingual management consultant with over ten years of experience with the public sector in policy, program management and human resources management. She has eight years with the private sector as a management consultant in organizational development executive coaching, training and research.

Terry holds a Masters of Public Administration from Carleton University, a Bachelors of Political Science from the University of Windsor, a Certificate in Personnel Management from the Personnel Association of Ontario, a Masters in Human and Organizational Systems from Fielding Graduate Institute and is currently completing a PhD in Human and Organizational Development at Fielding Graduate Institute, in California. Terry is married with twin eight-year old boys.  She volunteers with the Cumberland United Soccer Association.  After living the journey of breast cancer, Terry now provides support, advice and guidance to others who wish to have complementary care.

Kyle Braatz

“The OICC offers an impactful solution to bridge conventional and complementary care in a way that truly treats the person and not just the disease. I believe the OICC is pioneering the way healthcare should be delivered across the board. They are disrupting the care delivery system around what is best for the patient and I believe the impact they will have on our community will be unmeasurable.”

Kyle is the CEO and co-founder of Health Wave, a tech company focused on helping integrative health professionals improve patient outcomes. The first step towards this vision is a free platform to dispense supplements and facilitate product compliance (launched in early 2012).

Since 2009, Kyle started and ran a not-for-profit to benefit cancer research, cycled across Canada, and co-founded Simple Story Videos (www.simplestoryvideos.com)

Kyle was among Ottawa’s Top 40 under 40 at the age of 28 for his achievements.  Kyle graduated from the Telfer School of Management at the University of Ottawa. When not working he enjoys playing hockey, cycling, hunting, fishing and cottage life. He is recently married and loves dogs.

Colleen Kanna

“The OICC treats the whole person not just the cancer cells.  I believe a person does so much better when they combine conventional treatment with complementary care.  It’s an approach that treats the emotional and mental aspects of this disease along with the physical aspects that can help ease the pain and suffering, lift the spirit, and soothe the soul.”

Colleen is a cancer champion and entrepeneur.  Formerly Colleen was Chartered Accountant and Vice President of Finance at ExitCertified Corporation, an IT Training Company.  Colleen was diagnosed with breast cancer in the Fall of 2010.  Since that time, she has participated in many programs and services offered by the Ottawa Integrative Cancer Centre as well as the Cancer Survivorship Centre.  Being a cancer survivor, she is an advocate of complementary therapies and programs to promote whole-person care for those undergoing cancer treatments and beyond.  She continues to do outreach, promotional and fundraising activities with the Ottawa Integrative Cancer Centre and the Ottawa Regional Cancer Foundation. 

In addition, she is an active member of the Ottawa Japanese Community and Past Vice-President and Board member for the Ottawa Japanese Cultural Centre.  She enjoys running, skiing, skating and yoga.

Améliorer la qualité de vie

Conseil consultatif communautaire

 

John Kelly, président

« Ce qui me motive le plus est de voir à quel point le CCIO a à cœur de travailler aux côtés et avec les professionnels et les chercheurs traditionnels du cancer. Le CCIO comble une lacune du régime de soins cancérologiques. Lorsque j'entends les histoires des patients, je vois le formidable effet que le Centre a sur les personnes atteintes du cancer. Cela m'inspire à aider à faire grandir le Centre, à assurer que toute personne atteinte du cancer a accès à ces soins complémentaires. »

John a 44 ans d'expérience en affaires et en administration dans le secteur de la technologie. Un des entrepreneurs en série les plus respectés, John a cofondé Murphy Business Ottawa et est également copropriétaire de Comfort Keepers, une entreprise de soins à domicile. Il est l'ancien premier dirigeant de JetForm Corporation et a fondé plusieurs entreprises, dont SHL Systemhouse et NABU Network Corporation. John siège au conseil d'administration de plusieurs compagnies privées et publiques, et est un ancien président de la campagne Centraide Ottawa et un ancien président honoraire du Relais pour la vie de la Société canadienne du cancer. 

John a reçu plusieurs honneurs et prix, notamment, le prix du Maître entrepreneur de l'année, Ontario (1997), du PDG le plus respecté, Ottawa (1998), de l'entrepreneur civique de l'année, Ottawa (1999), de l'homme d'affaires de l'année d'Ottawa (2001) et la présidence de la campagne Centraide (Ottawa, 2000). Il a reçu la médaille du Jubilé de diamant du gouverneur général (2012) et l'Ottawa Lifetime Achievement Award (2012). En mai 2014, M. Kelly a été honoré lors des 22es prix annuels pour l'innovation et le leadership décernés par la CATAAlliance pour ses innovations technologiques et son leadership  exceptionnels qui ont considérablement élargi les frontières de l'industrie de la technologie de pointe au Canada. Ce prix était commandité par l'École de gestion Tefler de l'Université d'Ottawa et attribué par les membres de la CATA. Il a un baccalauréat en Administration des affaires, Finances, de l'Iona College, un diplôme en droit et un doctorat honoraire de l'Université d'Ottawa.

Sandra Harvey

« La recherche que fait le CCIO est très stimulante pour démontrer l'effet de la médecine complémentaire lorsqu'elle vient compléter la médecine traditionnelle. La mission du CCIO d'encourager la collaboration entre tous les types de professionnels de la santé pour une santé et un confort globaux du patient est la raison pour laquelle j'ai choisi d'être meneuse de claque pour le CCIO. Cette démarche n'a aucun inconvénient. »

Sandra est cofondatrice de Murphy Business Ottawa. Elle a plus de 15 ans d'expérience en gestion financière, opérationnelle et générale des entreprises indépendantes. Son expérience lui a acquis l'ensemble des compétences variées idéal pour l'exécution des aspects techniques et la gestion des éléments non techniques au moment d'une vente.

Sandra a achevé son MBA en 2006 et a un baccalauréat en Commerce (comptabilité) de l'Université d'Ottawa. Elle est membre de Leaders at Heart (Institut de cardiologie de l'Université d'Ottawa), de l'Association canadienne des entreprises familiales (CAFE) de la Chambre de commerce d'Ottawa, de la Chambre de commerce de Kanata et du Women’s Business Network (WBN). Elle a récemment remporté le prix Top 10 Producer de Murphy Business and Financial pour 2011 et 2012, et le prix Olga Howe Networker du WBN.

Jackie King

« Je crois que c'est une nouveauté essentielle dans notre collectivité. Ottawa a toujours été une ville de l'innovation et à la fine pointe des soins médicaux, le CCIO en est une preuve de plus. Non seulement aidera-t-il les gens de notre collectivité à combattre le cancer, il aidera encore à renforcer le leadership d'Ottawa dans les soins et le traitement du cancer. Le CCIO en est à ses tout débuts quant à son potentiel dans cette ville et je suis très fière de faire partie d'une merveilleuse équipe pour l'aider à grandir. »

Membre de l'entreprise depuis 1999, Jackie King est en ce moment vice-présidente principale et directrice générale du bureau d'Ottawa de Hill+Knowlton Strategies, supervisant ses affaires publiques et internes, son engagement public et sa recherche, son approvisionnement et son commerce et ses groupes de communications du secteur public.

Jackie est une professionnelle aguerrie ayant presque 15 ans d'expérience dans le domaine des communications stratégiques et de la gestion des affaires, et une solide expérience en planification stratégique, en gestion des entreprises et des personnes, en consultation et participation des intervenants, en défense des droits, en gestion de problèmes et communication en temps de crise, en réputation de l'organisation, en changement et participation ou communications internes et en résolution de problèmes. Ses clients comprennent plusieurs entreprises et secteurs, y compris : le gouvernement, l'aérospatiale et défense, les finances, les ressources naturelles, les carburants renouvelables, la technologie, le commerce, le transport et des organismes sans but lucratif.

David Nostbakken

« La majorité des patients atteints du cancer cherchant des soins complémentaires alternatifs, le CCIO offre une avenue sûre et professionnelle. Elle combine les interventions naturopathiques à celles de l'oncologie. J'appuie le CCIO parce qu'il est essentiel... et qu'il fournit un ingrédient qui fait défaut dans la pratique
médicale. »


David est président de N + N, une société de communication d'Ottawa qui se spécialise dans la pensée stratégique et la planification de politiques créatives. David a été à l'avant-scène d'une variété d'initiatives de pointe. Il a été directeur général fondateur et président de Vision TV, le premier réseau de télévision multiconfessionnel au monde; président fondateur et premier dirigeant de WETV, un réseau mondial de médias dans 60 pays à l'appui de l'expression de la diversité culturelle. À titre de fondateur, président et premier vice-président de l'Ecology Global Network, il travaille avec des universités du monde entier à explorer des utilisations innovantes des réseaux sociaux et des technologies numériques dans les questions de développement durable. Il est chargé de cours à l'université Carleton et McLuhan Fellow de l'iSchool, Université de Toronto.

David a œuvré au Power of Peace Network, un service numérique de l'UNESCO pour améliorer le dialogue interculturel, et au China Green Channel International. Il a été directeur des communications au Centre de recherches pour le développement international et directeur de l'Éducation publique pour la Société canadienne du cancer. David a siégé au sein de divers conseils consultatifs et conseils d'administration, et préside en ce moment CCNM Entreprises et CCNM Press, le volet édition du Canadian College of Naturopathic Medicine (CCNM). Il a reçu deux bourses du Conseil des Arts du Canada, la Médaille commémorative du règne de la Reine et la médaille d'or de l'Organisation mondiale de la santé.

Rabbin Dr Reuven P. Bulka

« La bataille contre le cancer a plusieurs aspects. Le CCIO rassemble plusieurs aspects et est une importante addition à notre arsenal anticancéreux communautaire. Grâce au Conseil consultatif communautaire, nous espérons mobiliser la collectivité pour relever ce défi. Nous sommes tous solidaires de cette entreprise parce que d'une façon ou d'une autre, le cancer nous atteint tous. »

Le Rabbin Dr Reuven P. Bulka, C.M. est le chef spirituel de la congrégation Machzikei Hadas à Ottawa depuis 1967. En plus d'être l'auteur accompli de plus de 35 livres et de multiples articles dans les domaines de la religion, de la santé et de la psychologie, il est, avec le rabbin Bulka, animateur de Sunday Night à l'antenne de CFRA et contribue périodiquement à la chronique « Demandez à l'expert en religion » de l'Ottawa Citizen.

Le rabbin est réputé pour son engagement infatigable à la collectivité d'Ottawa alors qu'il siège au sein de conseils caritatifs ou municipaux et participe régulièrement à des événements caritatifs. Il a reçu de nombreux prix, notamment le Gilbert Greenberg Distinguished Service Award pour son service exemplaire à la communauté juive d'Ottawa et a été le premier récipiendaire de l'Hommage national de Scouts Canada. Il a été cité pour plus de 300 dons de sang, siège au conseil de la Société canadienne du sang et œuvre activement à la promotion des programmes de don d'organes. Le rabbin Bulka est chapelain honoraire de la Direction nationale de la Légion royale canadienne, préside le Réseau Trillium pour le don de vie ainsi que la campagne de l'Hospice Ottawa West. En 2006, il a reçu un doctorat honorifique en Droit de l'université Carleton pour son service communautaire et humanitaire, a reçu la Clé de la Ville en février 2010 et est devenu membre de l'Ordre du Canada en juin 2013.

Richard Patten

« La raison pour laquelle j'appuie le centre est que le traitement du cancer ordinaire adopte une démarche trop étroite. Il peut être plus efficace lorsqu'il est accompagné de soins complémentaires. Nous devons rester ouverts à toutes les démarches, pas à une seule. »

Richard est ancien député d'Ottawa-Centre ainsi qu'ancien ministre des Services gouvernementaux et ministre de Services correctionnels. Pendant ses cinq années en dehors du gouvernement, il a été président de la Fondation du Centre hospitalier pour enfants de l'est de l'Ontario. La première installation de recherche de l'hôpital pour enfants a été construite sous sa houlette, ce qui a attiré des donateurs du monde entier.

Avant sa vie publique, Richard a travaillé au YMCA et a agi comme président du Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale. Après avoir quitté la politique, il a travaillé comme expert-conseil avec Plasco Energy Group et d'autres entreprises en démarrage dans le domaine de l'environnement et de l'innovation. En ce moment, Richard est expert-conseil pour ArrowMight, une organisation axée sur les besoins en alphabétisation des Canadiens. Même si Richard a beaucoup contribué à sa collectivité par son service collectif, ce sont ses efforts bénévoles qui ont eu la plus grande influence. Il a créé la Richard Patten Aboriginal Student Bursary pour atténuer les barrières financières qui empêchent les étudiants d'avoir une éducation postsecondaire et, en ce moment, Richard collecte des fonds pour le Wabano Centre for Aboriginal Health. Il siège au conseil d'administration de diverses organisations.

Terry Vida

« On m'a diagnostiqué un cancer du sein et, à l'époque, le CCIO n'existait pas. J'en ai créé ma propre version en cherchant les services d'un docteur en naturopathie, d'un entraîneur personnel, d'un massothérapeute et d'un acupuncteur, et d'un moniteur intuitif. Je pense que mon rétablissement a été plus rapide, moins douloureux et m'a permis d'intégrer cet événement qui a changé ma vie à ma vie familiale. Le CCIO fournit ces services et je souhaite aider les clients éventuels et les fournisseurs de services à comprendre les avantages qu'il peut offrir aux patients atteints du cancer aux personnes qui les soignent et à leur famille. »

Terry Vida, une partenaire de ConversArt Consulting, est une experte-conseil bilingue en gestion ayant plus de dix ans d'expérience de la politique, de la gestion de programme et de la gestion des ressources humaines du secteur public. Elle a huit ans d'expérience dans le secteur privé comme experte-conseil en accompagnement professionnel, en formation et en recherche sur le développement organisationnel des cadres.

Terry a une maîtrise en Administration publique de l'Université Carleton, un baccalauréat ès sciences politiques de l'Université de Windsor, un certificat en gestion personnelle de l'association des professionnels (elles) en ressources humaines de l'Ontario, une maîtrise en Systèmes humains et organisationnels du Fielding Graduate Institute et est en voie de compléter un doctorat en Développement humain et organisationnel du Fielding Graduate Institute, en Californie. Terry est mariée et a des jumeaux de huit ans. Elle fait du bénévolat à la Cumberland United Soccer Association. Après avoir vécu l'expérience du cancer du sein, Terry offre maintenant un soutien, des conseils et une orientation aux autres personnes qui souhaitent des soins complémentaires.

Kyle Braatz

« Le CCIO offre une solution efficace pour combler l'écart entre soins traditionnels et soins complémentaires de façon à vraiment soigner toute la personne, pas seulement sa maladie. Je pense que le CCIO ouvre la voie aux soins de santé tels qu'ils devraient être dans leur ensemble. Ils mettent ce qui est le mieux pour le patient au centre du système de soins de santé et je pense que l'influence qu'ils auront sur notre collectivité sera incommensurable. »

Kyle est premier dirigeant et cofondateur de Health Wave, une société de technologie axée sur l'aide aux professionnels de la santé intégrative pour améliorer les résultats pour le patient. La première étape vers cette vision est une plateforme libre pour distribuer les suppléments et faciliter la conformité des produits (lancée au début de 2012).

Depuis 2009, Kyle a créé une organisation sans but lucratif au profit de la recherche sur le cancer, a traversé le Canada à bicyclette et a cofondé Simple Story Videos (www.simplestoryvideos.com).

Kyle a fait partie du top 40 des moins de 40 ans à l'âge de 28 ans pour ses réalisations. Il a un diplôme de l'École de gestion Tefler de l'Université d'Ottawa. Lorsqu'il ne travaille pas, il aime jouer au hockey, faire de la bicyclette, chasser, pêcher et la vie de chalet. Il s'est marié récemment et aime les chiens.

Colleen Kanna

« Le CCIO traite la totalité de la personne, pas seulement les cellules cancéreuses. Je pense que les gens vont tellement mieux lorsqu'ils combinent traitement traditionnel et soins complémentaires. C'est une démarche qui traite les aspects affectifs et mentaux de la maladie, aussi bien que ses aspects physiques, et qui peut contribuer à réduire la douleur et la souffrance, remonte le moral et nourrit l'esprit.»

Entrepreneure et championne de la lutte contre le cancer, Colleen était auparavant comptable agréée et vice-présidente des finances à ExitCertified Corporation, une entreprise de formation en TI. Colleen a appris qu'elle avait le cancer du sein à l'automne 2010. Depuis, elle a participé à plusieurs programmes et services offerts par le Centre de cancérologie intégrative d’Ottawa ainsi que par le Centre de survie du cancer. Étant une survivante du cancer, elle se porte à la défense des thérapies et programmes complémentaires pour favoriser les soins holistiques chez les personnes traitées pour le cancer et après. Elle poursuit ses activités de relations avec les collectivités, de promotion et de collecte de fonds avec le Centre de cancérologie intégrative d’Ottawa et la Fondation régionale du cancer d'Ottawa. 

De plus, elle est membre active de l'Ottawa Japanese Community et ancienne vice-présidente et membre du conseil d'administration de l'Ottawa Japanese Cultural Centre. Elle aime la course, le ski, le patin sur glace et le yoga.