Improving Quality of Life

About Us

Quick Contact

29 Bayswater Avenue

Ottawa, Ontario K1Y 2E5

View Location Map

Mission and Vision

Our mission is to provide evidence-informed integrative and preventative cancer care, research, and education across the spectrum of prevention to survivorship. The Ottawa Integrative Cancer Centre (OICC) will be a flagship model interdisciplinary centre that provides whole-person integrative care to people with cancer, cancer survivors, and those seeking cancer prevention.


Our objectives at the OICC are to:

  • Be a model for whole-person cancer care by providing optimal patient-centred integrative care and an example to support the creation of a network of associated centres across Canada.

  • Bridge complementary and conventional cancer care by assisting in reducing barriers through education, care, and research towards a more seamless, integrated, and empowering patient experience that includes complementary medicine.

  • Provide evidence-informed resources for patients and caregivers, making reliable information on non-conventional approaches to cancer care and prevention available for those with cancer and their families.

  • Conduct high-quality research in complementary cancer care by testing the effectiveness of emerging therapies, natural health products, and complementary medicine in cancer care and prevention.

  • Address environmental contributors to cancer, by researching the effects of toxic exposures, and educating the public on how to reduce exposure to the environmental toxins that promote cancer development and progression.

  • Train and educate others for integrative oncology, including health practitioners, students, and the public. By teaching the principles of integrative oncology, we positively impact the delivery of cancer care across Canada.



Voices of Support

“For far too long, disciplines have worked in isolation without communication and our patients have often felt caught between differing therapeutic philosophies, often to their detriment. This is a wonderful initiative. An integrative program will help provide a much needed bridge.”

Shailendra Verma, MD, FRCPC, FACP (chair)
Medical Oncologist, The Ottawa Hospital 


view all voices

Latest Blog Posts

Probing the World of Probiotics: Interview with an Expert

Reflexology and Cancer

Massage Therapy for Gardeners

Go to Blog

Améliorer la qualité de vie

À propos de nous

Nous joindre

29, avenue Bayswater

Ottawa, Ontario K1Y 2E5

Carte démontrant notre emplacement

Mission et vision

Notre mission est de fournir des soins, de la recherche et une sensibilisation au cancer intégratifs et préventifs fondés sur des données probantes sur toute la largeur du spectre de la prévention en vue de la survie. Le Centre de cancérologie intégrative d’Ottawa (CCIO) sera un centre interdisciplinaire modèle qui fournit des soins holistiques intégratifs aux personnes atteintes du cancer, aux survivants du cancer et aux personnes qui tentent de prévenir le cancer.


Les objectifs du CCIO sont :

  • d'être un modèle de soins holistiques contre le cancer en offrant des soins intégratifs optimaux axés sur le patient et un exemple à l'appui de la création d'un réseau de centres associés à travers le Canada;
  • de réduire l'écart entre soins oncologiques complémentaires et traditionnels en réduisant les barrières par l'éducation, les soins et la recherche en vue d'une expérience pour le patient homogène, intégrée et habilitante qui englobe les médecines complémentaires;
  • de fournir des ressources fondées sur des données probantes aux patients et aux soignants en mettant à la disposition des personnes atteintes du cancer et de leur famille une information fiable sur les démarches de soins et de prévention non traditionnelles du cancer;
  • d'effectuer de la recherche de haute qualité sur les soins oncologiques complémentaires en testant l'efficacité des nouvelles thérapies, des produits de santé naturels et des médecines complémentaires pour les soins et la prévention du cancer;
  • de traiter les facteurs environnementaux du cancer en faisant de la recherche sur les effets de l'exposition aux produits toxiques et en sensibilisant le public aux moyens de réduire l'exposition aux toxines environnementales qui favorisent le développement et la progression du cancer;
  • de former et d'éduquer les autres à l'oncologie intégrative, y compris les professionnels et les étudiants en santé et le public. En enseignant les principes de l'oncologie intégrative, nous avons une influence favorable sur la prestation des soins aux personnes atteintes de cancer à travers le Canada.