Improving Quality of Life

About Us

Quick Contact

29 Bayswater Avenue

Ottawa, Ontario K1Y 2E5

View Location Map

How is the OICC Different?

The OICC is the first integrative oncology and research centre of its kind in Central and Eastern Canada.  The OICC actively collaborates with other health professionals and acts as a catalyst for advancing the integration of naturopathic and complementary medicines within the traditional cancer care model.


 


Why is integrative oncology so important? Well over half of all cancer patients today embrace complementary therapies alongside conventional treatments during their cancer journey and this proportion is growing. Often patients do not communicate their complementary care choices with conventional oncologists. A common concern among oncologists is the potential for complementary medicine to interfere with conventional therapies such as chemotherapy and radiation therapy.

Clinical care at the OICC includes the use of safe natural therapies at doses and times that will not negatively impact on chemotherapy, radiation therapy, or surgery. Rather, these therapies will support the patient’s own inherent healing ability and help the body cope with the toxicity and side effects associated with conventional therapy. The provision of complementary therapies in an evidence-based manner, supporting conventional medicine, is both desired by patients and is much needed in the cancer community.

The OICC is committed to working with patients, their families, and their health-care providers (including oncologists and surgeons), to provide complementary therapeutic programs that do not interfere with standard treatments but instead, help to optimize the overall treatment process providing greater likelihood for clinical benefit through a truly integrative approach.



Voices of Support

“For far too long, disciplines have worked in isolation without communication and our patients have often felt caught between differing therapeutic philosophies, often to their detriment. This is a wonderful initiative. An integrative program will help provide a much needed bridge.”

Shailendra Verma, MD, FRCPC, FACP (chair)
Medical Oncologist, The Ottawa Hospital 


view all voices

Latest Blog Posts

Exercise for People with Cancer: Evidence Based Recommendations

Fish Oil and Prostate Cancer - Help or Harm?

Navigating the world of complementary and alternative healthcare information

Go to Blog

Améliorer la qualité de vie

À propos de nous

Nous joindre

29, avenue Bayswater

Ottawa, Ontario K1Y 2E5

Carte démontrant notre emplacement

En quoi le CCIO est-il différent?

Le CCIO collabore activement avec d'autres professionnels de la santé et agit comme catalyseur pour l'avancement de l'intégration des médecines naturopathiques et complémentaires au modèle de soins traditionnels du cancer. Ainsi, le CCIO est le premier centre de soins et de recherche en oncologie intégrative de son genre dans l'est du Canada.


Pourquoi l'oncologie intégrative est-elle si importante? Plus de la moitié des patients aujourd'hui atteints de cancer adoptent des thérapies complémentaires parallèles aux traitements traditionnels pendant leur maladie, et cette proportion augmente. Les patients communiquent rarement leurs choix de soins complémentaires à leur oncologue. Une préoccupation commune chez les oncologues est la possibilité que la médecine complémentaire nuise aux thérapies traditionnelles comme la chimiothérapie et la radiothérapie.

Les soins cliniques du CCIO comprennent le recours aux thérapies naturelles sûres à des doses et des moments qui n'auront pas d'effet sur la chimiothérapie, la radiothérapie ou la chirurgie. Au contraire, ces thérapies soutiendront le pouvoir de guérison inhérent du patient et aideront le corps à faire face à la toxicité et aux effets secondaires associés aux thérapies traditionnelles. Les patients souhaitent qu'on leur offre des thérapies complémentaires fondées sur des données probantes, à l'appui de la médecine traditionnelle, thérapies complémentaires nécessaires dans la communauté des personnes atteintes du cancer.

Le CCIO a à cœur de travailler avec les patients, leur famille et leurs fournisseurs de soins de santé (y compris les oncologues et les chirurgiens) pour offrir des programmes thérapeutiques complémentaires qui ne nuisent pas aux traitements traditionnels, mais contribuent plutôt à optimiser le traitement global en offrant une plus forte probabilité d'avantages cliniques grâce à une démarche vraiment intégrative.