Improving Quality of Life

About Us

Quick Contact

29 Bayswater Avenue

Ottawa, Ontario K1Y 2E5

View Location Map

FAQs

What is the Ottawa Integrative Cancer Centre (OICC)?

The OICC is the first integrative cancer care and research centre of its kind in Eastern Canada. We were established to provide the best in integrative cancer care, to improve the quality of life of those touched by this debilitating disease.

We offer whole-person care for cancer patients interested in receiving complementary support alongside conventional treatments and for those seeking prevention of cancer or its recurrence. We work with patients, their families, their family doctors and their oncologists and surgeons, to develop complementary, therapeutic programs that can help to optimize overall wellness.

Through our clinical practice, research and education, we strive to assess and reduce the possible causes of cancer while exploring innovative integrative treatment approaches.


Is the OICC a not-for-profit organization?

Yes. The OICC is a not-for-profit regional centre of the Canadian College of Naturopathic Medicine, a registered charity providing education and research in naturopathic and complementary medicine since 1978.


What is the Canadian College of Naturopathic Medicine (CCNM) and what is its connection to the OICC?

The Canadian College of Naturopathic Medicine (CCNM) is a not-for profit charitable organization that is one of seven accredited educational colleges across North America responsible for training naturopathic doctors (NDs). The College is based in Toronto and provides a four-year, full-time, intensive program of medical training to over 500 students.

CCNM provides operational support and the governance for the OICC. A fundamental principle of naturopathic medicine is whole-person care, and through the successful operation of the OICC, the College will help positively impact the approach to cancer care in Canada. The CCNM is committed to seeing change in the health care system that embraces a more proactive preventative approach to health-care.


What is integrative oncology?

Integrative oncology is an approach to cancer care that believes a number of therapies can and should be provided in a collaborative way to give a patient the best means possible to heal themselves physically, mentally and emotionally. The field of integrative oncology is an evolving one but essentially is based on whole-person care that puts the patient at the forefront and recognizes the value of complementary medicine in optimizing care. The ideal of integrative oncology sees the best of conventional medicine combined with the best of complementary medicine provided in a seamless and safe manner. This is a goal to which the OICC is striving to help achieve, in Ottawa and ultimately across Canada.


What is complementary cancer care?

Complementary care consists of diverse medical and health care systems, practices and products that are not currently considered to be part of conventional medicine, such as acupuncture, botanical medicines, massage and meditation. It is called “complementary” care because it is practiced alongside conventional medicine in a supportive way.

Existing evidence-base shows that when some complementary therapies are used together with conventional cancer treatments, the result is enhanced efficacy, reduced symptoms of toxicity, alleviated patient distress and reduced suffering.

The goals of complementary medicine for people undergoing cancer treatment include:

  • Decreasing side effects of cancer treatment
  • Improving energy, well-being and overall quality of health
  • Balancing and supporting the body’s immune system
  • Nourishing the mind, body, and spirit in the healing process
  • Providing strategies for cancer prevention and health maintenance
  • Providing natural anticancer therapies that can help control the disease

What is whole-person, patient-centered care?

Whole-person care is an approach to health care that addresses the “whole-person”, not just a specific disease that an individual may have. It is believed that:

  • a state of health is inseparable from the body, mind, spirit, and environment
  • the body has an inherent ability to heal itself
  • lifestyle factors contribute to health and illness
  • every individual is biochemically unique

Whole-person care also encourages "self-care", through the use of a wide range of health practices and therapies including nutrition, yoga, acupuncture, and exercise. Patients are empowered to choose their treatment options, and are encouraged to take an active role in their healing process through the adoption of these self-care practices.


What is the role of naturopathic doctors at the OICC?

Our naturopathic doctors (NDs) have additional education in integrative cancer care and are all members of the Oncology Association of Naturopathic Physicians (OncANP).

At the OICC, we believe it is optimal for patients to be under the care of one of our NDs. They act as a primary caregiver, ensuring that all facets of a person’s health are being addressed. Through whole-person, patient-centred cancer care, our NDs guide and monitor each patient through the right complementary therapies at the right time.


Would my naturopathic doctor at the OICC work together with my oncologist or surgeon?

Yes.  At the OICC we encourage open communication with all conventional practitioners in order to help our patients achieve the best possible outcome. We are committed to working with the patient’s full cancer team to develop complementary therapeutic programs that will not interfere with standard treatments but instead, will help to optimize patient care.


What range of therapies do you offer?

Our team of regulated health-care practitioners offer naturopathic medicine, nutritional counseling, physiotherapy, drugless psychiatry, family therapy, acupuncture, massage therapy, lymphedema and lymphatic drainage, reflexology, exercise therapy, counselling, and yoga therapy.

Anyone interested in learning more about our available therapies is invited to attend an information session with a care coordinator. Please book an appointment by calling the OICC at 613-792-1222 or 1-855-546-1244.


What is naturopathic medicine and why is it unique?

Naturopathic medicine is a distinct system of primary care that addresses the root cause of illness or disease and promotes health and healing using natural therapies. It supports the body’s own healing ability using an integrated approach to disease diagnosis, treatment and prevention.

Naturopathic doctors use natural, non-toxic therapies that support the whole-person and stimulate inherent healing processes. The goal is to create a healthy internal and external environment. This is significant for individuals living with cancer.


How can I become a patient?  Is a referral needed?

New patients are welcome with or without a referral to see any of our naturopathic doctors and therapists. To make an appointment, please call the OICC at 613-792-1222 or 1-855-546-1244.

We welcome patients at any stage of cancer or those wishing to prevent cancer.


 What is the role of a care coordinator?

Care coordinators is a service we offer free of charge for all new patients who wish to be cared for at the OICC. Care Coordinators are available to assess your needs and to help guide you in accessing the right caregivers and resources for true integrative care. Care Coordinators are able to help with your care at the Centre but do not directly provide any therapy or prescriptions. New patients are booked in and seen for approximately fifteen minutes with a care coordinator and there is no charge for this service.


Can I become a patient if I’m just interested in preventing cancer?

Absolutely.  We work with people living with cancer and those wishing to prevent it, on how to take control of their own health.


Are your services covered by Ontario Health Insurance (OHIP)?

Some of our practitioners do provide care covered by OHIP but as most of our health care professionals are private practitioners we are primarily a fee-for-service clinic.  Many of our services, however, are covered under private and employer health insurance plans.


Do you offer subsidized care?

Subsidized care is available for those who cannot afford out-of-pocket costs not covered by OHIP or insurance plans.  


What educational programming do you offer?

The OICC is driven to educate and empower people with cancer, or those attempting to prevent cancer, on how best to take control of their own health. We also provide informational sessions for the general public, as well as training and education for health care practitioners.

We offer and participate in workshops, seminars and online webinars year-round. Please see our upcoming schedule of events.


What research do you conduct?

Our research is based on two main pillars: the conduct of clinical trials for promising complementary therapies and the evaluation of integrative whole-systems of care. Our research enables us to address significant research gaps in regards to the safety, clinical effectiveness and cost-effectiveness of complementary therapies and integrative oncology and is a fundamental part of the vision and mission of the OICC.

Future plans include developing a research agenda to explore relevant issues in the field of environmental oncology, particularly in relation to risk factors that influence cancer development and recurrence. Please see our research to get a better sense of the work we have conducted and are currently working on.


Where are you located?

We are located in Hintonburg neighbourhood in Ottawa at the corner of Somerset and Bayswater just east of Preston Road.

Ottawa Integrative Cancer Centre
26 Bayswater Avenue
Ottawa, Ontario
K1Y 2E5

Phone: 613-792-1222
Toll Free: 1-855-546-1244
Fax: 613-792-1620
Email: info@oicc.ca

Hours: Monday - Friday 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. and Saturday 9 a.m. - 5 p.m.

Click here for a map

Voices of Support

“For far too long, disciplines have worked in isolation without communication and our patients have often felt caught between differing therapeutic philosophies, often to their detriment. This is a wonderful initiative. An integrative program will help provide a much needed bridge.”

Shailendra Verma, MD, FRCPC, FACP (chair)
Medical Oncologist, The Ottawa Hospital 


view all voices

Latest Blog Posts

Book Review: The Bright Hour. A Memoir of Living and Dying by Nina Riggs

Probing the World of Probiotics: Interview with an Expert

Reflexology and Cancer

Go to Blog

Améliorer la qualité de vie

À propos de nous

Nous joindre

29, avenue Bayswater

Ottawa, Ontario K1Y 2E5

Carte démontrant notre emplacement

FAQ


Qu'est-ce que le Centre de cancérologie intégrative d’Ottawa (CCIO)?Le CCIO est le premier centre intégratif de soins et de recherche en cancérologie de son genre dans l'est du Canada. Il a été créé pour fournir les meilleurs soins cancérologiques intégratifs pour améliorer la qualité de vie des personnes touchées par cette maladie débilitante.


Nous offrons des soins holistiques aux patients cancéreux qui souhaitent recevoir un soutien complémentaire aux traitements traditionnels et aux personnes qui veulent prévenir le cancer ou sa récurrence. Nous travaillons avec les patients, leurs familles et leurs médecins de famille, oncologue et chirurgien pour monter un programme thérapeutique complémentaire qui peut aider à optimiser la santé générale.

Nous tentons d'évaluer et de réduire les causes possibles du cancer, au moyen de la pratique clinique, de la recherche et de l'éducation, tout en explorant des traitements thérapeutiques intégratifs innovants.


Le CCIO est-il un organisme sans but lucratif?

Oui. Le CCIO est un centre régional sans but lucratif du Canadian College of Naturopathic Medicine, un organisme de bienfaisance enregistré offrant éducation et recherche en naturopathie et en médecine complémentaire depuis 1978.


Qu'est-ce que le Canadian College of Naturopathic Medicine (CCNM) et quel est son lien avec le CCIO?

Le Canadian College of Naturopathic Medicine est un organisme caritatif sans but lucratif et un des sept collèges accrédités d'Amérique du Nord responsables de la formation des docteurs en naturopathie (DN). Son siège social est à Toronto et offre un programme de formation intensive de quatre ans à temps plein à plus de 500 étudiants.

Le CCNM fournit soutien opérationnel et gouvernance au CCIO. Les soins holistiques sont un principe fondamental de la médecine naturopathique et, grâce à la réussite du CCIO, le Collège contribuera à changer la démarche de traitement du cancer au Canada. Le CCNM a à cœur de voir changer le régime de soins de santé pour qu'il adopte une démarche de prévention plus proactive aux soins de santé.


Qu'est-ce que l'oncologie intégrative?

L'oncologie intégrative est une démarche de traitement du cancer fondée sur le principe que plusieurs thérapies peuvent et doivent être fournies en collaboration pour donner au patient les meilleurs moyens possible de se guérir lui-même physiquement, mentalement et affectivement. Le domaine de l'oncologie intégrative est en évolution, mais est essentiellement fondé sur des soins holistiques qui mettent le patient au premier plan et reconnaît la valeur de la médecine complémentaire dans l'optimisation des soins. L'idéal de l'oncologie intégrative consiste en la meilleure médecine traditionnelle combinée, d'une manière harmonieuse et sûre, à la meilleure médecine complémentaire. C'est là le but que le CCIO cherche à atteindre à Ottawa et, éventuellement, à travers le Canada.


Qu'appelle-t-on des soins complémentaires contre le cancer?

Les soins complémentaires consistent en divers régimes médicaux et de soins de santé, de pratiques et de produits qui ne font en ce moment pas partie de la médecine traditionnelle, comme l'acupuncture, les médecines par les plantes, le massage et la méditation. On les appelle soins « complémentaires » parce qu'on les fournit à l'appui de la médecine traditionnelle.

Des données probantes montrent que le recours aux thérapies complémentaires parallèlement aux traitements traditionnels du cancer améliore l'efficacité, réduit les symptômes de toxicité, atténue la détresse des patients et réduit leur souffrance.

Les buts de la médecine complémentaire pour les personnes qui subissent un traitement contre le cancer comprennent :

  • la réduction des effets secondaires du traitement contre le cancer;
  • l'amélioration de l'énergie, du bien-être et de la qualité générale de la santé;
  • l'équilibre et le soutien du système immunitaire du corps;
  • le soutien de l'esprit et du corps pendant le processus de guérison;
  • les stratégies de prévention du cancer et de maintien de la santé; et
  • les thérapies naturelles contre le cancer qui peuvent aider à contrôler la maladie.

Qu'appelle-t-on soins holistiques axés sur le patient?

Les soins holistiques sont une démarche de santé qui traite l'ensemble de la personne et non une maladie particulière de cette personne. On pense que :

  • l'état de santé est inséparable du corps, de l'esprit et du milieu;
  • le corps a la capacité inhérente de se guérir lui-même;
  • les aspects du mode de vie contribuent à la santé et à la maladie;
  • chaque personne est unique sur le plan de la biochimie.

Les soins holistiques favorisent également l'« autogestion de la santé », au moyen d'une vaste gamme de pratiques de santé et de thérapies, dont la nutrition, le yoga, l'acupuncture et l'exercice. Les patients peuvent choisir leurs traitements et on les encourage à jouer un rôle actif dans leur processus de guérison grâce à l'adoption de ces pratiques d'autogestion de la santé.


Quel rôle les docteurs en naturopathie jouent-ils au CCIO?

Nos principaux docteurs en naturopathie sont membre d'Oncology Association of Naturopathic Physicians (OncANP).

Au CCIO, nous pensons que les patients gagnent à être soignés par un de nos DN. Ces derniers agissent comme principaux fournisseurs de soins en s'assurant que sont traités tous les aspects de la santé de la personne. Les soins holistiques contre le cancer axés sur le patient permettent à nos DN de guider et de surveiller chaque patient pour lui offrir les bonnes thérapies complémentaires au bon moment.


Mon docteur en naturopathie du CCIO travaillerait-il avec mon oncologue ou mon chirurgien?

Oui. Au CCIO, nous encourageons la communication ouverte avec tous les intervenants traditionnels pour aider nos patients à obtenir les meilleurs résultats possible. Nous avons à cœur de travailler avec la pleine équipe de traitement du patient pour monter un programme thérapeutique complémentaire qui ne nuira pas aux traitements traditionnels, mais aidera plutôt à optimiser les soins du patient.


Quelle gamme de thérapies offrez-vous?

Notre équipe de professionnels de la santé offre la médecine naturopathique, des conseils en nutrition, la physiothérapie, la psychiatrie sans médicaments, la thérapie familiale, l'acupuncture, la massothérapie, le drainage lymphatique et du lymphoedème, la réflexologie, la gymnastique rééducative, le counseling et le yoga thérapeutique.

Toute personne qui souhaite en savoir plus sur les thérapies que nous offrons est invitée à assister à une session d'information avec un coordonnateur de soins. Veuillez prendre rendez-vous en communiquant avec le CCIO aux numéros 613-792-1222 ou 1-855-546-1244.


Qu'est-ce que la médecine naturopathique et en quoi est-elle unique?

La médecine naturopathique est un régime distinct de soins primaires qui traitent les causes profondes de la maladie et favorise la santé et la guérison par les thérapies naturelles. Elle soutient la capacité de guérison du corps au moyen d'une démarche intégrée pour le diagnostic, le traitement et la prévention de la maladie.

Les docteurs en naturopathie utilisent des thérapies naturelles non toxiques qui soutiennent l'ensemble de la personne et en stimulent les processus de guérison inhérents. L'objectif est de créer un milieu interne et externe sain, ce qui est important pour les personnes atteintes du cancer.


Comment puis-je devenir un patient?  Ai-je besoin d'une recommandation?

Nous accueillons tout nouveau patient, avec ou sans recommandation, qui souhaite voir un de nos docteurs en naturopathie ou de nos thérapeutes. Pour prendre rendez-vous, veuillez communiquer avec le CCIO aux numéros 613-792-1222 ou 1-855-546-1244.

Nous acceptons les patients à toutes les étapes du cancer ou ceux qui souhaitent prévenir le cancer.


 


Puis-je devenir un patient si je souhaite seulement prévenir le cancer?

Absolument. Nous travaillons avec les personnes atteintes du cancer et avec celles qui souhaitent le prévenir pour qu'elles prennent le contrôle de leur propre santé.


L'Assurance-santé de l'Ontario couvre-t-elle vos frais de services?

Certains de nos praticiens offrent des soins couverts par l'Assurance-santé de l'Ontario, mais comme la plupart de nos professionnels de la santé sont des praticiens d'exercice privé, nous sommes essentiellement une clinique de paiement à l'acte. Toutefois, plusieurs de nos services sont couverts par les régimes d'assurance-maladie privés ou de l'employeur.


Offrez-vous des soins subventionnés?

Des soins subventionnés sont offerts aux personnes qui ne peuvent pas payer eux-mêmes les frais qui ne sont pas couverts par l'Assurance santé de l'Ontario ou un régime d'assurance.


Quelle programmation éducative offrez-vous?

Le CCIO a pour but de sensibiliser et d'habiliter les personnes atteintes du cancer, ou celles qui veulent le prévenir, dans les meilleurs moyens de prendre contrôle de leur propre santé. Nous offrons également des sessions d'information pour le grand public, de même qu'une formation et une éducation pour les professionnels de la santé.

Nous offrons et participons aux ateliers, aux séminaires et aux webinaires tout au long de l'année. Veuillez consulter notre calendrier des événements à venir.


Quelle recherche effectuez-vous?

Notre recherche est fondée sur deux piliers principaux : la réalisation d'essais cliniques pour les thérapies complémentaires prometteuses et l'évaluation des régimes de soins holistiques intégratifs. Notre recherche nous permet de combler certaines grandes lacunes de la recherche sur la sûreté, l'efficacité clinique et le rapport coût-efficacité des thérapies complémentaires et de l'oncologie intégrative, et est une partie fondamentale de la vision et de la mission du CCIO

Les plans pour l'avenir comprennent le développement d'un plan de recherche pour explorer les questions pertinentes du domaine de l'oncologie environnementale, particulièrement en ce qui concerne les facteurs de risque qui influencent le développement et la récurrence du cancer. Veuillez consulter notre recherche pour vous faire une meilleure idée du travail que nous avons effectué et que nous effectuons.


Où êtes-vous situé?

Nous sommes dans le quartier Hintonburg d'Ottawa au coin Somerset et Bayswater, à l'est du chemin Preston.

Centre de cancérologie intégrative d’Ottawa
26, avenue Bayswater
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1Y 2E5

Téléphone : 613-792-1222
Sans frais : 1-855-546-1244
Télécopieur : 613-792-1620
Courriel : info@oicc.ca

Heures d'ouverture : Lundi au vendredi de 8 h à 17h